Allotment tales, the beginning

For years and years i have wanted a little garden to call my own, however with being firmly stuck in generation rent i have had to make do. Contracts that don’t allow me to do anything but mow the lawn, flats with no outdoor space or, now, doing the best with a concrete yard. A concrete yard with no sun, a flight of stairs running through it and the knob who owns the shop next door chipping away at my patience by either by snapping my trellis with his van or lobbing his crap in there.

img_20160207_150947.jpg

An allotment seemed the next best thing but those lists are very long, i was sat 84th on a list of 95 for months.However, a friend of mine who has been in the same boat text me and said some local plots were coming up half price as they were “overgrown”. Giddy with thoughts of leaning on forks, chitting potatoes and hanging out in sheds we met with the allotment volunteer at 8am on a Thursday morning and saw what we were being offered. It was a hot mess of brambles, a dilapidated shed, masses of weeds, plastic, parts of tools strewn about and possibly a pond. My friend and I talked it over and decided we wanted the challenge and we wanted a project so signed on the dotted line. At half price my 138sqm plot is £45 per year.

img_20160207_151151.jpg

Jobs to do:

  1. The shed needs fixing up so it will keep things at least dry, it currently has no roof so i have pulled over the tarpaulin left behind by the last  owner, i do realise with the weather we have had its a bit closing the stable door after the bolting but i felt like i had done something at least. Hopefully one of my clever friends can help me try and fix it more permanently.
  2. I need to clear the brambles out and chop down the errant weeds on my plot and help my friend with his. We will need a heavy duty petrol strimmer and a lot of time to dig the roots out.
  3. I shall then decide what i will do with the space. With so much of it i won’t need it all to grow food so i fancy keeping part of it semi wild (within the allotment rules) to encourage wildlife, birds, bees etc.
  4. I then need to assess the soil and prepare it for growing.

img_20160207_151329.jpg

This is going to take months of hard work, the allotment space is too far for me to go after work this time of year due to lighting constraints but weekends up until the light gets better will be spent up there digging and chopping. Pray for my back.

imag0011_1.jpg

 

 

 

4 Replies to “Allotment tales, the beginning”

  1. Good Luck. Try clearing small sections at a time. A bed for some seed potatoes in a few weeks. Then another bed for some salad crops, etc.

Leave a Reply

